Join Doors Open Rhode Island for a free open house at the Sons of Jacob Synagogue, with an extra special welcome from the boundlessly energetic President of the synagogue, Harold Silverman. For many years, there was a thriving Jewish community in the old North End along Orms Street, Douglas Avenue, and Chalkstone Avenue. Though most of the 300 families that made up the congregation of Sons of Jacob have since moved to Providence’s East Side and surrounding suburbs, a small group continues to worship on the ground floor in the original part of the synagogue built in 1906.
We will have a rare opportunity to explore the synagogue, including the second floor sanctuary built in 1922. Though the upstairs worship space hasn’t been used in a decade, when the lights are turned on it transforms into a jewel box unlike anything else in Providence. Unique murals depicting animals, trompe-l’oeil scenery, and the Jewish zodiac glow in the warm light of dozens of lightbulbs and a crystal chandelier. All are invited to join this open house event to enjoy klezmer music and snacks and learn about the synagogue’s history, its neighborhood, and plans for the future.
Thank you to our partners: Sons of Jacob Synagogue, the Jewish Alliance of Greater Rhode Island, Smith Hill Community Development Corporation, Rhode Island Jewish Historical Association, Preserve RI, Providence Preservation Society, and newly formed Rhode Island Jewish Museum.